Bob Breitband on a G4 Power PC iBook mac

Bob Breitband seems to be the cheapest not-quite-a-contract mobile internet service on offer in Austria at the moment (55 Euro for the modem, including 1 GB of transfer, then after that it’s 4 Euro per GB).  So, I ordered a starter pack without checking to see if my iBook mac would be capable of talking to the modem. It cannot, I learned from the Windows(-only) CD in the pack, and from their helpline.  I will have to use a different modem, they sadly informed me.  Thanks to Google I got the thing working eventually anyway.

Here’s the useful info:

  • the USB thingy (3G modem?) that comes with the Bob pack is a Huawei E160.
  • APN stands for Access Point Name.
  • A posting on Ev’s Tech Thought of the Day blog got me started, but the drivers posted there don’t work on my machine (they appear to be Intel only).
  • The Bob competitor yesss! has a page with a Mac download for the E160 (found thanks to this forum), see “Installation für Mac OSX” at the bottom of this page.  This got me a little further: the software talks to the modem, and communicates with the the mobile network.  However it didn’t let me connect to t’internet.
  • The driver for the E220 works with the E160.  Grab it over here and follow the instructions here for the driver that doesn’t work.
  • One key detail seems to be disabling the SIM card’s PIN using the yessss!-site downloadable software I mentioned above.

Some kind soul who is struggling with the same problem and who has time on their hands might want to piece this together systematically.  I’m not going to risk killing my net connection today to work out what bits actually do the work!

10 comments

  1. Patrick

    I just got it to work thanks to all the help on this blog.
    I have redone everything from scratch to try out whats the key in getting it to work.

    This is what I have done:

    I followed all the steps at http://blog.evandavey.com/2008/02/how-to-connect-huawei-e220-usb-modem.html

    Whats missing there is that it seems you have to disable the pin as Andy mentioned in this blog. I was stuck there because the Software from the yesss site he linked to wasn’t working for me.
    I installed the version from http://blog.evandavey.com/2008/02/how-to-connect-huawei-e220-usb-modem.html
    Once you enter your PIN correctly you don’t need MobileConnect anymore. It is just needed for the PIN disabling.

  2. Gernot

    Hi there,

    I am just sitting here, having the same Problem: I can’t manage to get bob-Breitband (with the E160 stick) to work on OSX (Intel alu iMac).
    As I got WinXP running with bootcamp, i could install the Win-only software there, and test the stick, as well as disable the Pin!
    But i still cannot bring it to work under OSX. I guess i am just entering my Data wrong.

    Can you plz tell me, how I have to understand the instructions in this PDF on page 8?
    http://www.bob.at/final/de/Images/Content/Installationsanleitung_bob_breitband_entsperrtes_modem.pdf

    Do I have to type that in one-to-one?? Guess not.. I thought at the phone-number, I enter the phone number of the sim, and under username / password i enter my customer username and pw i got at bob.

    But it seems i am doing something wrong, when i press “connect” it will not connect..

    Can you plz tell me: What exactly do I enter there, and how in detail?

    Thx for any help guys! I have to say, that this blog was allready very usefull, since I found the drivers through it! :)

  3. Gernot

    Hey there, thx for answer!

    I did change that now, but it still doesn’t word :S. Is the phone number *99***1# or *99#? It doesn’t work with either of them though..

    So i now tried it with:

    phone number: *99***1# (or with *99#)
    user name: data@bob.at
    password: ppp

    The other settings under “more options” I set up like discribed on page 8 and 9 then.

  4. Gernot

    Hey there :)

    It works now! surfig with bob now 8). A simple un- and replugging of the stick helped in the end.

    So thx for your help a lot! Would never have made that allone :)

    Gernot

  5. 0p0

    hey andy,
    thanks for this topic. what a great thing. but: i have some different effects.

    first some technical details on my installation:
    i use a g4 iBook 1,33MHz (yes, ppc) and mac osx 10.5.8

    my current status: success!

    how?
    1. with the http://www.shasam.net/archives/82/ drivers installed alone and afterwards configuring the device manually in system preferences i could not connect. btw, my settings were – as advised both together in evan davey’s blog AND in the bob-pdf mentioned above – also:

    *99# (telephone number),
    data@bob.at (account name),
    ppp (password),
    generic (advanced…vendor)
    GPRS (GSM/3G) (advanced… model)
    bob.at (advanced… APN)

    result: no connection (i think i already mentioned that ;) )

    2. what really gave me the spin was – yes – the yesss!-software… i dl’ed it, entered my PIN and afterwards all necessary configuration details (see above) in a custom new… profile, and – what can i say. it work’d!

    therefore, for the sake of increasing the probability of eternal bob-breitband-huawei-e160-mac-osx-connections (i like those dashed-put-together-words), i put this mobile connect application online to http://www.divshare.com/download/9060430-65d … not that the provider deletes it one day… wouldn’t be the first slap for powerpc-dinosaurs like we are by now ;)

    well then.
    keep the good things up n going.

Leave a Reply

