Spearmint – A Signal or a Sign [updated]

What the lyrics actually are

how are we supposed to know what to do
if nobody tells us?
how are we supposed to know where to go
if nobody shows us?

i need hope and certainty
i need truth, give me something!
a signal or a sign
just give me something

how are we supposed to know what to do
if nobody tells us?
how are we supposed to know where to go
if nobody shows us?

sometimes i want to cry but the tears won’t come
sometimes i feel ok but my eyes are streaming
somebody give me permission
just give me something

i envy your normality

how i envy your contentment
you’ve got more sense than me
you just accept it

in my head

i recognise the words you say
but can’t quite seem to understand
the meaning…

i have to hold on to the side
to keep from falling, give me something!

i have to hold on to the edge
to keep from drowning

too much freedom, too much choice
i need some science fiction
too many blank pages to fill
just give me something

it’s only when we stop we can really see
it’s only when we stop we can see where we’ve been
instead of walking backwards, walking blind…

if i could just write “help” in the sky
i’d write it today, give me something!
a signal or a sign, just give me something

a generation of apologists
breaking lifts and stopping watches
pushing pianos across the ice…

(Song over here.)

Here’s what I thought the lyrics were

How we’re supposed to know what to do
If nobody tells us
How we’re supposed to know where to go
If nobody shows us

I need help [or hope] I’m seventeen
I need truth
Give me something
A signal or a sign
Just give me something

How we’re supposed to know what to do
If nobody tells us
How we’re supposed to know where to go
If nobody shows us

Sometimes I want to cry
But the tears won’t come
Sometimes I feel okay
But my eyes are streaming
Somebody give me permission
Just give me something

I envy your normality
Oh how I envy your contentment
You’ve got more sense than me
You just accept it

My head
I recognise the words you say
I can’t quite seem to understand
The meaning

I have to hold on to the side
To stop me falling
Give me something
I have to hold on to the edge
To keep from drowning

Too much freedom
Too much choice
I need some science fiction
Too many blank pages to fill
Just give me something

It’s only when we stop
We can really see
It’s only when we stop
We can see where we’ve been
Instead of walking backwards
Walking blind

If I could just ride up in the sky
I cried today
Give me something
A signal or a sign
Just give me something

A generation of apologists
Breaking lifts
Stopping watches
Pushing pianos across the ice

Leave a Reply

